Committees & Representatives

Australian Orthoptic Board

OA has three representatives on the board of directors of the AOB.

Representatives: Connie Koklanis, Julie Barbour, Sue Silveira


Australian Orthoptic Journal

The AOJ committee is responsible for the publication and editorial content of the association’s scientific journal.

Editors Ms Linda Santamaria, Dr Meri Vukicevic


Awards Committee

The awards committee oversees the implementation and organisation of the awards and grants of the association.

Sue Silveira (Convenor)


Conference Convenor

The conference convenors are responsible for the organisation of the upcoming national scientific conference.

Convenors: To be advised


Conference Scientific Committee

The conference scientific committee is responsible for the scientific program of the  upcoming national scientific conference

Committee: To be advised


Council Advisory Committee

Committee goal: to support and advise OA regarding the development and maintenance of high standards of orthoptic practice with reference to research, ongoing education,  professional issues and promotion

Committee members are financial members appointed by Federal Council of the OA. Recommendations for membership should be made to OA Federal Council by the OACAC. Members of OACAC have attributes which include but are not limited to:

  • Educational knowledge
  • Rehabilitation knowledge
  • Private sector practice experience
  • Public sector practice experience
  • Low vision knowledge
  • Paediatric knowledge

Current members: Sue Silveira, Neryla Jolly, Ann Mac Farlane, Handan Otay, Julia Kelly, Mara Giribaldi


Public Relations

The Public Relations is responsible for marketing and promotion initiatives of the association including Orthoptic Awareness Week

Committee: Allanah Crameri (General), Vivan Nguyen (Social Media)


Rural Health Representative

The rural health representative acts on behalf of the interests of orthoptists who work in regional and rural settings.

Representative: Maria Pritchard


Sponsorship Committee

The sponsorship committee coordinates industry related sponsorship of events and develops guidelines, policies or procedures for sponsorship.

Convenor: Stephanie Marshall


Vision2020 Network

Orthoptics Australia as a member of Vision 2020 Australia represents orthoptist at related Vision2020 forums and meetings

Representative:  Mrs Marion Rivers


Workplace Relations & Conditions

The Workplace Relations & Conditions representative provides advice to members regarding employment related issues.

Representative: Liane Wilcox


Public Officer

Representative: Jody Leone